"Here Come the Waterworks"

(Hydra Head)

01. Just as the Day was Dawning
02. Hands Up
03. Shields
04. Grounds for Divorce
05. Another Fourth of July...Ruined
06. Start your Digging
07. I'll Give You Something to Cry About
08. Another Beautiful Day in the Pacific Northwest

RATING: 8.5/10

I am amazed at what bassist/vocalist Jared Warren (KARP) and drummer Coady Willis (THE MURDER CITY DEVILS) have done with such a minimal set-up. BIG BUSINESS' "Here Come the Waterworks" is catchy, full of life, and undeniably rocking. And we are not talking about the sludgy assault of a bass/drums act like BLACK COBRA either (though said act is powerful on "Bestial" for different reasons). For all the monstrous drumming and delectable distorted bass, this one is all about songwriting. You will move along with the music, revel in the low-end pummel, and remember the melodies long after you've put the CD on the shelf, that is, if you can even keep it there without tossing it back in for additional listens.

Just listen to the vibrancy and tunefulness of a song like "Just as the Day was Dawning", and try not to say, "How the hell did they pull this off with only bass and drums?" Granted, there are a few accents here and there; what sounds like the odd guitar line and studio effect, but it takes nothing away from the fact that this is a house built from bass and drums. Warren is a gifted vocalist in the way that his edge is ragged and tuneful, not to mention that his style falls somewhere around Roger Daltrey (THE WHO) crossed with Kirk Windstein (CROWBAR, DOWN). But do not for a second think that "melody" equates to softness, as "Here Come the Waterworks" is one heavy album, whether it be the hard-as-iron drumming or the fat, woofer-busting bass lines. If it's an up-tempo jam that you desire, look no further than "Hands Up", another prime example of the duo's knack for rockin' the fuck out and leaving the listener with a tune that will have you shouting right along. But it is on the nine-minute "I'll Give you Something to Cry About" on which the act unleashes its masterpiece. Brooding and passionate, the song makes one think of a fuzzed out and melancholy Irish drinking song reinterpreted with a MELVINS bent.

"Here Come the Waterworks" is a disc that you must hear to believe. Trust me, you'll be sold; it is an approach to heavy music that is fresh and invigorating. It is also one the more unique albums I've heard in quite some time.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).