"Peeping Tom"


01. Five Seconds
02. Mojo
03. Don't Even Trip
04. Getaway
05. Your Neighborhood Spaceman
06. Kill the DJ
07. Caipirinha
08. Celebrity Death Match
09. How U Feelin?
10. Sucker
11. We're Not Alone (Remix)

RATING: 7/10

A schizophrenic mix tape from former MR. BUNGLE and FAITH NO MORE vocalist Mike Patton, whose output after those bands has ranged from the harshly accessible (the excellent TOMAHAWK) to the attention-deficit deranged (FANTOMAS) to the downright irritating (the ridiculous "Adult Themes For Voice" records). As promised, PEEPING TOM is a pop record, albeit one filtered through Patton's whacked-out sense of melody and penchant for sneaking avant-garde moments into the smoothest tunes.

Guest stars abound here — MELVINS drummer Dale Crover provides much of the organic backbeat for these fractured tunes, while everyone from Norah Jones to beatboxer Rahzel to Dan the Automator and Kool Keith to MASSIVE ATTACK show up. This is most definitely not a metal record, though it's not strictly rock, hip-hop, or pop either — it's a glorious mess of styles, sometimes all at once. Patton sent off tapes to the various collaborators, many of whom he still has never met, but the results still sound like a funked-up, late-night jam between a bunch of unlikely pals at a studio slumber party.

The results are oftentimes more textural than hooky in a classic pop sense — though 'Mojo", "How U Feelin?" and "Sucker" are as gooey and infectious as anything else you'll hear this year (plus, anyone who gets Norah Jones to coo "motherfucker' on record deserves props just for that). Those yearning for the waning days of FAITH NO MORE won't have much to cling to here, although closer 'We're Not Alone" comes closest to the band's sound (circa "Album of the Year" and 'King For a Day…", at least).

Of tangential interest to the most open-minded headbangers, due to Patton's unmatched pedigree, PEEPING TOM is well worth your time and cash (even the packaging is cool, probably the most interesting CD package you'll buy this year outside of the new TOOL). Be prepared for liberal doses of breakbeats, rapping, general studio weirdness, and — thankfully — Patton actually singing his ass off, sounding like he doesn't have a smirk on his face for the first time in quite some time. Check it out.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).