ABSCESS: New Album Artwork Unveiled; Audio Samples Available

ABSCESS, the California-based band consisting of Chris Reifert (drums/vocals; ex-DEATH/AUTOPSY), Clint Bower (guitar/vocals; ex-HEXX), Danny Coralles (guitar; ex-AUTOPSY), and Joe Allen (bass; ex-VON), will release its eighth album, entitled "Dawn Of Inhumanity", on March 9 in the U.S. and March 15 in Europe. The CD will once again be made available through Tyrant Syndicate Productions, the label headed up by DARKTHRONE guitarist/vocalist Nocturno Culto.

"Dawn Of Inhumanity" was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California with engineer Adam Munoz and is described in a press release as "an unrivalled nightmare of raw experimental extremity. Including special guest vocal appearances by the DARKTHRONE duo, this is twisted, dirty punk death without limits!" The cover artwork was created by U.S. artist Dennis Dread (DARKTHRONE, AUTOPSY), with booklet art courtesy of Chris Reifert himself.

Commented Reifert: "We really have gone beyond anything we did before.

"The challenge is to keep the core or the heart of the monster intact by retaining the original ABSCESS anger. To take that infection and move it into an immeasurable space. I think we have found that place. I think we might find you in there somewhere.

"I have to say that this time around, we went in with an almost surgical approach, meaning that not only were the songs carefully put together riff wise, but we plotted and planned out every little detail to make each song an important piece of the puzzle. There is some serious hallucinogenic depth in there!

"The album was constructed in a way that is meant to take you on a trip to a dark and disturbing world in which your ordinary daily world has no place. The songs form one solid vibe when heard from start to finish, as opposed to each one being a disposable piece that can be consumed and thrown out after a listen or two.

"'Dawn Of Inhumanity' is a true album in every sense. Not to mention it's heavy as hell!"

Click here for the new ABSCESS "Dawn Of Inhumanity" minisite featuring audio samples, album info, plus an exclusive interview with the band concerning all things dark and metal.

ABSCESS's seventh full-length CD, "Horrorhammer", came out in March 2007.

Tankcrimes released a ABSCESS / POPULATION REDUCTION split LP/CD last spring. The split, brought on by a fan-based cover song years ago, features cover art by Chris Reifert. The recordings were mastered by Dan Randall at Mammoth Sound (GHOUL, IMPALED, MAGRUDERGRIND, VOETSEK).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).