ACCEPT, DOKKEN, POISON, QUEENSRŸCHE Featured On 'Metal Mania Stripped Volume 3' CD

Metal fans have spoken, so get ready to turn the volume up to "11" as Sidewinder Music and VH1 Classic Records will be releasing "VH1 Classic Metal Mania Stripped Volume 3" on Tuesday, March 6.

The new CD release will once again feature rare and never-before-heard acoustic versions of some of metal's greatest songs by some of the genre's biggest names.

This is the fourth release in the successful "Stripped" series ("Volume I: The Ballads" and "Volume 2: The Anthems", along with the "Metal Mania Stripped Across America Live!" DVD).

Just like the others that preceded it, "Metal Mania Stripped Volume 3" is another acoustic collection of some of metal's biggest hits, all of which have proudly stood the test of time.

All in all, fifteen unforgettable tracks, ten of which have never been heard before!

Those returning to the "Stripped" series with an appearance on "Volume 3" include such artists as POISON, QUEENSRŸCHE, TESLA, SLAUGHTER, DOKKEN and FIREHOUSE along with Tom Kiefer of CINDERELLA, Jani Lane (former lead singer and songwriter of WARRANT) and WINGER.

New artists to the "Metal Mania" "scene" include ACCEPT, AUTOGRAPH, KIX, Eric Martin from MR. BIG, RATT and SHAW/BLADES. The latter duo, featuring Tommy Shaw of STYX and Jack Blades of NIGHT RANGER fame, come at you full force with an entirely new unplugged version of "High Enough", a huge hit song (reaching #3 on the Billboard chart) from their collaboration in the super group DAMN YANKEES.

Other well-known hits on the forthcoming "Metal Mania Stripped Volume 3" disc include CINDERELLA's "Nobody's Fool" (the premiere power balled from their '86 release, "Night Songs"), TESLA's "Signs" (their 1991 remake of the early '70s hit from the "Five Man Electrical Band"), FIREHOUSE's "When I Look Into Your Eyes" (a Top Ten single spawned from their sophomore effort, "Hold Your Fire"), SLAUGHTER's "Up All Night" (a Top 40 single from their 1990 debut album, "Stick It To Ya", recorded at the Key Club in Los Angeles), WARRANT's "Heaven" (an unexpected smash hit from '89's "Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich" that reached #2 on the singles charts) performed by original WARRANT lead vocalist Jani Lane and "Don't Close Your Eyes", the breakthrough power ballad for KIX that would hit #11 on the Billboard chart.

TESLA's "Signs" practically launched the "unplugged" movement as it was one of the first acoustic hits of the 90's. "'Signs' will always be one of my all time favorites," states TESLA's lead singer, Jeff Keith. "It has such a powerful message that a lot of people can relate to, including myself. Even stripped down to acoustic guitars, this one still comes out a winner."

In addition to those tracks, other hits performed acoustically include "Balls to the Wall" (ACCEPT), "In My Dreams" (DOKKEN), "Just Take My Heart" (performed by Eric Martin of MR. BIG), "Turn Up The Radio" (AUTOGRAPH) and WINGER's "Headed for a Heartbreak", along with three previously unreleased "MTV Unplugged" recordings by POISON ("Unskinny Bop"), QUEENSRŸCHE ("The Killing Words") and RATT ("Way Cool Jr.").

Although original RATT vocalist Stephen Pearcy provided an acoustic rendition of "Round And Round" for "Metal Mania Stripped Volume 2: The Anthems", he's featured with his RATT band mates — Warren DeMartini, Juan Croucier and Bobby Blotzer — for an acoustic version of the band's hit, "Way Cool Jr.", from "MTV Unplugged".

"I remember messing with the idea for 'Way Cool Jr.' as RATT were in a very grueling situation for that record," remembers Pearcy. "I liked the idea and the whole swing element about the song. So Warren and I started talking about who is 'Way Cool' and what does he like to groove to... The end result surprised us and it came out great! Thoroughly nasty with a great groove. It's been a fan favorite in concert ever since it came out... The tune simply rocks unplugged, which is why we included it in our 'MTV Unplugged' set... We're glad it's being released on the 'Metal Mania' CD for all RATT fans to enjoy."

Track listing (not in sequential order):

01. ACCEPT - "Balls To The Wall"
02. AUTOGRAPH - "Turn Up The Radio"
03. TOM KIEFER (CINDERELLA) - "Nobody's Fool"
04. DOKKEN - "In My Dreams"
05. FIREHOUSE - "When I Look Into Your Eyes"
06. KIX - "Don't Close Your Eyes"
07. ERIC MARTIN (MR. BIG) - "Just Take My Heart"
08. POISON (MTV Unplugged) - "Unskinny Bop"
09. QUEENSRŸCHE (MTV Unplugged) - "The Killing Words"
10. RATT (MTV Unplugged) - "Way Cool Jr."
11. SHAW/BLADES - "High Enough"
12. SLAUGHTER - "Up All Night"
13. TESLA - "Signs"
14. JANI LANE - "Heaven"
15. WINGER - "Headed For A Heartbreak"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).