EDENBRIDGE: 'The Bonding' Trailer Released

A two-minute trailer for "The Bonding", the eighth album from Austrian female-fronted symphonic metallers EDENBRIDGE, can be seen below. Due on June 21 in Germany, June 24 in the rest of Europe and July 2 in the U.S./Canada via SPV/Steamhammer, the effort will be available as a limited-edition ecol book with a bonus CD and some exciting extras, double gatefold colored vinyl with printed inner sleeves, jewel case version and as a digital download.

It's been more than a decade since EDENBRIDGE first created a stir with the launch of their debut album, "Sunrise In Eden", back in 2000. What presented itself as a young but already immensely talented band has evolved into one of the genre's most independent acts. "The Bonding" sees the group underline its exceptional status in melodic metal and puts an end to their creative hiatus of almost three difficult years.

"We had to come to terms with a number of personal setbacks, which is why the production of the album took longer than originally scheduled," explains guitarist and main songwriter Lanvall, who, among other things, suffered the loss of his father due to suicide. In addition, EDENBRIDGE underwent an unexpected lineup change: bassist Simon Holzknecht had to be replaced by Wolfgang Rothbauer (DISBELIEF, ZOMBIE INC.).

Yet the band's great compositional qualities, the amazing voice of singer Sabine Edelsbacher and EDENBRIDGE's unconditional determination to not only validate, but to surpass the undisputable strengths of each predecessor album are omnipresent.

"The initial ideas were developed as early as 2010, immediately after the release of 'Solitaire', but due to our private trials and tribulations, it took us until autumn 2012 to conclude the recordings for our new album," Lanvall looks back at the taxing months marked by one ambitious goal: to complement the new album by a real orchestra in order to support the material's symphonic direction.

"Our style has always had an unmistakably symphonic quality," says Lanvall, "so the only question was: how do we finance a big orchestra?"

At this point, outside help arrived, in the form of support from fans and sponsors. Thanks to a major joint effort, the band succeeded in bringing to the studio the Klangvereinigung Orchestra of Vienna under the direction of Georg Luksch to cap the atmospheric and at the same time dynamic songs on "The Bonding".

Says Lanvall: "When it was confirmed that the Klangvereinigung Orchestra would come to the studio, I concentrated on writing scores for our songs, so we were able to integrate these additional elements more concisely than ever before. Of course, it would be a mistake to drown our songs, which also feature guitar riffs, choirs and rhythmic details, in orchestra sounds. It was all about positioning the orchestra in a way that would create an additional dynamic level. I think we've succeeded in doing just that on 'The Bonding'."

Another outstanding feature is Sabine Edelsbacher's voice, whose warm, pleasantly melancholy timbre refines every EDENBRIDGE track.

"I've worked very hard on my voice in recent years to intensify not only expression and power, but also clarity and nuances," she explains. "It's very important for me to devote myself totally to my music, to be able to immerse myself 100% in every song."
Which is probably one of the reasons why "The Bonding" has turned into the band's most haunting and ambitioned album so far, including truly impressive numbers such as "Mystic River", "Alight A New Tomorrow", "Shadows Of My Memory" and — more or less as the grand finale — the 15-minute title track, a memorable duet by Sabine Edelsbacher and Erik Martensson (W.E.T., ECLIPSE).

Says Lanvall: "This song is the culmination of the album's general theme, which is about universal energy, about birth and growth, about memories and reflection."

"The Bonding" track listing:

01. Mystic River
02. Alight A New Tomorrow
03. Star-Crossed Dreamer
04. The Invisible Force
05. Into A Sea Of Souls
06. Far Out Of Reach
07. Shadows Of My Memory
08. Death Is Not The End
09. The Bonding


* Sabine Edelsbacher: Lead Vocals
* Lanvall: Lead, Rhythm, Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Piano, Kacapi
* Max Pointner: Drums
* Dominik Sebastian: Lead, Rhythm Guitar
* Wolfgang Rothbauer: Bass, Grunts on "Shadows Of My Memory"

"Alight A New Tomorrow" video:

"The Bonding" standard edition:

"The Bonding" limited edition:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).