Former And Current Members Of NIGHTWISH, RAINBOW, URIAH HEEP To Perform Hard Rock Classics With Sweden Symphony Orchestra

This summer's edition of the Sweden Rock Festival will feature the debut appearance of an absolutely massive project. The Sweden Rock Symphony Orchestra is a grand symphony orchestra with 48 musicians and a choir who, together with a band and six invited guest star vocalists, will e perform newly arranged, well-known hard rock and metal classics like you have never heard them before.

The orchestra usually goes by the slightly shorter name Sweden Symphony Orchestra and is one of the premier orchestras in Sweden. Founded by conductor Ulf Wadenbrandt, they have played all the major concert houses in Sweden, such as Berwaldhallen and Göteborgs Konserthus, as well as performing on national TV station TV4's new year's special, on the 25th-anniversary tour of the immensely popular "Rhapsody In Rock" show among many other things.

As a professional orchestra conductor, Ulf Wadenbrandt is best known for his symphonic genre crossover concerts. Having worked with many of the leading orchestras and artists in Sweden, he has established himself as a well-respected conductor in high demand.

The rock band accompanying the orchestra will be the Swedish prog rock/metal band FREAK KITCHEN, with some extra help from former MAGNUM keyboardist Mark Stanway.

Participating vocalists:

* Dan McCafferty (ex-NAZARETH)
* Tarja Turunen (ex-NIGHTWISH)
* Joacim Cans (HAMMERFALL)
* John Lawton (ex-URIAH HEEP)
* Peter Tägtgren (PAIN, HYPOCRISY)

This entire project is being put together for this one and only concert, so this will be a completely unique experience that no Sweden Rock Festival guest should miss.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).