Former LION'S SHARE Singer TONY NIVA Releases 'Dressed To Kill' Video

Former LION'S SHARE Singer TONY NIVA Releases 'Dressed To Kill' Video

"Dressed To Kill", the new video from Swedish hard rock band NIVA, can be seen below. The clip was directed by Patric Ullaeus of Revolver Film Company, who has previously worked with DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL, IN FLAMES, AMARANTHE and KAMELOT, among others. "Dressed To Kill" is taken from NIVA's new album, "Atmospherical", which is being released on October 28 via Niva Music Group/AOR Heaven.

In the realms of melodic metal, Sweden's LION'S SHARE has been synonymous with class and quality for over two decades — not least thanks to a succession of great vocalists: Andy Engberg (220 VOLT, SORCERER, SECTION A), Nils Patrik Johansson (ASTRAL DOORS, WUTHERING HEIGHTS, CIVIL WAR)... and who else? Oh yes — Tony Niva, the vocal powerhouse from LION'S SHARE's seminal fourth album "Entrance" (2001). What's his story?

Niva started singing as a young boy in the mid-'80s, inspired by the likes of Ronnie James Dio, Joe Lynn Turner and Geoff Tate. After cutting his teeth in classic acts like SWEDISH EROTICA and AXIA, Tony formed his own outfit NIVA whose debut album, "No Capitulation", arrived in 1994 (featuring Ian Haugland of EUROPE fame behind the kit). Despite the quality of this melodic affair, NIVA folded shortly afterwards. After graduating from the university, Tony joined LION'S SHARE long enough to record the aforementioned "Entrance" — and left the music scene again shortly afterwards. However, in 2011 Tony tried out for the Swedish Eurovision Song Contest with the song "Janitor Of Love", with limited success, on paper. Creatively, the result was so satisfying that Tony extended his collaboration with his new songwriting team. NIVA's comeback album, "Gold From the Future", was released in Japan in the fall of 2011. (On the European and American market, the album was released under the moniker OXYGEN and titled "Final Warning".)

"I've been focusing on my career in the IT business, so I didn't make much music between 1994 and 2011," says Tony. "But after that second NIVA album, I made two more: 'Magnitude' in 2013 and 'Incremental IV' in 2014. And after that, I thought I might as well release what I recorded in 1995 as the intended follow-up to 'No Capitulation': 'Relievin' Rain' (2015). Now, however, I'm back with a whole new incarnation of NIVA. On this new album, I wanted to broaden my horizons. Different production, a heavier sound. So I've been working with Lars Chriss, my old pal from the LION'S SHARE days."

Lars Chriss, now a highly renowned producer/mixer with the likes of OVERLAND, CHRIS OUSEY, RADIOACTIVE "F4our", SEVEN and LUGNET on his resumé, has lent his producing, song-writing and guitar-playing skills to "Atmospherical".

Don't let the title fool you — NIVA has definitely moved away from the AOR-ish, comparative softness on previous works. "This is more of a melodic metal sound," Tony agrees. "It rocks harder, it's more riff-based and the keyboards are less prominent."

Besides Lars and Tony, former LION'S SHARE luminaries Kay Backlund (keyboards) and monster bassist Andy Loos (also of GLORY, SEVEN, COVERED CALL fame) have also lent their considerable skills to the creation of "Atmospherical". The album even includes a stellar remake of LION'S SHARE 1988 debut single B-side, "I'm On A Roll". So the LION'S SHARE reminiscence is very much intentional. And quite welcome.

"Atmospherical" track listing:

01. Dressed To Kill
02. Déjà Vu
03. Spirit Of The Night
04. Forbidden Lover
05. I'm On A Roll
06. Evil Rose
07. Raise Your Voice
08. The Mountain
09. Play Our Songs
10. Wall Of Bricks
11. Long Road To Hell & Back (bonus track for Marquee/Avalon in Japan))

"Atmospherical" recording lineup:

Tony Niva: Vocals
Lars Chriss: Guitar, Drums
Andy Loos: Bass
Kay Backlund: Keyboard on tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10 & 11
Fredrik Bergh: Keyboard on tracks 4, 8 & 9
Nigel Bailey: Backing vocals
Mick Devine: Additional backing vocals on tracks 6 & 10
George Bailey: Additional backing vocals on track 1



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).