Former DOKKEN bassist Jeff Pilson has posted the following message to his official web site:

"Basically the last several weeks have been spent finishing up the WAR AND PEACE record, and I just turned the demo version in to management this morning. I ended up playing guitar solos (which is such fun for me!), and mixing it myself, as well as putting all the songs in their proper order, etc. There is a definite feel to the running order of this CD, and I'm quite excited that it really does tell a story beginning to end. I wasn't expecting it to feel like such a complete piece of work, even though that was the intention. So basically it is all done, but once all the business is in place I'll see if it's feasible to get other guitarists in to do guest solos. That may or may not be possible at this time. I'm so ecstatically pleased with the songs, the over-all feel of the record, and all the performances, vocally and otherwise. And I can't even express how creatively fulfilling this has all been. One thing I love about this period in my career, is to have the technology to be able to record a CD, start to finish, on my own. I do love working with others, but sometimes it's such an amazingly pure process to take an idea and see it through to completion completely on your own. It's a real creative high. It also forces you to really focus your songwriting very intensely. Like I say, it's been a musical binge this last several weeks, but one I wouldn't trade for the world. While I'm at it, I might as well give a track listing and brief overview:

01. Calling
"Instrumental introduction which leads to…"

02. Reflections
"Fast up-tempo rocker"

03. No One Is Listening
"Heavy tom-tom groove, very melodic chorus, social commentary"

04. Rock And Roll Breakdown
"Tongue-in-cheek song about a rocker falling apart on stage"

05. The Walls Have Eyes
"Heavy tune, mostly about child abuse, but could mean other things as well"

06. Stranger In My Own Land
"Song from the New York Tribute CD. Was written and recorded late Sept. 2001"

07. You Haunt Me
"From the Pilson BEATLES vault, acoustic number with orchestration and vocal. I love this one."

08. The Shell
"Heavy tune, very melodic chorus, lots of harmonies, interesting instrumental section"

09. Black In The Mirror
"Heavy shuffle, big riff, big one-take solo in the middle (if that one stays!!!), catchy chorus"

10. Desperate Hearts
"The Jason Bonham co-write from the 'Rock Star' film. I think he'll be pleased with this version. Wait'll you hear the ending and how it segues into…"

11. The Line In The Sand
"Another social comment, heavy and melodic, lots of harmonies on the end"

12. Finale
"This is the big summation, incorporating elements from the CD into a large cacophony of sound swirling at the end. Has one of my best lyrical lines ever (IMHO).

"Well there you have it. I don't mean to go off so much about this, but what do you expect, I just finished this morning!!! I'm anxious to have this heard, and as soon as possible, I'll let everyone know the business progress and try and narrow down a release date and any other info."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).