MONSTER MAGNET Re-Name New Album, Switch Producers

MONSTER MAGNET have changed the tentative title for their forthcoming studio album to "Monolithic Babies" from the previously announced "Radiation Day". In addition, the band appear to have switched producers for the project, with the original choice of Joe Barresi (LIMP BIZKIT, BUCKCHERRY, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, KYUSS) having been jettisoned in favor of Scott Humphrey (ROB ZOMBIE, SPINESHANK, ANDREW W.K.), who recently worked with MONSTER MAGNET mainman Dave Wyndorf on the score for Ice Cube's next movie, "Torque". The CD, the group's first with bassist Jim Baglino (LORD STERLING) and drummer Micheal Wildwood (ex-CHROME LOCUST), will feature such cuts as "Master Of Light", "On the Verge", "Slut Machine Mach 2", "Ultimate Everything", "Monolithic Babies" and "Little Bag Of Gloom". An early 2004 release through SPV Records is expected.

A MONSTER MAGNET "greatest hits" CD, titled appropriately enough "Greatest Hits", is being issued in Europe on September 15 through A&M Records. While the first CD contains the obvious collection of singles and a random series of tracks picked by MAGNET's old label, the second CD includes a couple of hard-to-find b-sides and a complete selection of their video clips.

The complete track listing for "Greatest Hits" is as follows:

CD 1:

01. Tractor
02. Medicine
03. Dopes To Infinity
04. Melt
05. Spacelord
06. Powertrip
07. Atomic Clock
08. Heads Explode
09. Bummer
10. Negasonic Teenage Warhead
11. Dead Christmas
12. Silver Future
13. Black Balloon
14. Crop Circle
15. Kiss Of The Scorpion
16. Spacelord (Intergalactic 7 Mix)

CD 2 :

01. Unsolid
02. Big God
03. Into The Void
04. I Want More
05. Spacelord (Video)
06. Powertrip (Video)
07. See You In Hell (Video)
08. Heads Explode (Video)
09. Twin Earth (Video)
10. Face Down (Video)
11. Negasonic Teenage Warhead (Video)
12. Spacelord (Intergalactic 7 Mix - Video)

MONSTER MAGNET will play the London Astoria on December 7 as part of the annual Kerrang! Fest. It is not presently clear if the gig will be part of a more extensive European tour.

In other news, Wyndorf recently conducted an interview with Norway's Metal Express in which he discussed the upcoming album, the "Greatest Hits" compilation and the group's recent signing with SPV. Check out the 10-minute interview at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).