PELICAN To Release 'Nighttime Stories' Album In June

PELICAN To Release 'Nighttime Stories' Album In June

PELICAN, the instrumental quartet whose singular vision of heavy music eschews classification, will release its first full-length in six years, "Nighttime Stories", on June 7 via Southern Lord Recordings. The album's lead single, "Midnight And Mescaline", is out now digitally and hitting stores as a seven-inch with B-side track "Darkness On The Stairs" as a Record Store Day exclusive this weekend.

The eight-song "Nighttime Stories" marks PELICAN's first release written front to back with guitarist Dallas Thomas, who took over guitar duties upon founding member Laurent Schroeder-Lebec's departure in 2012. In the process of writing the album, the quartet endured a slew of realizations, tragedies, and glimmers of optimism that guided the creative process to the most potent work of its 19-year career. Though the new material veers towards the darker tone characteristic of PELICAN's early songwriting, it's hard to imagine a previous incarnation of the band writing songs as meticulously crafted and detail-oriented as those within "Nighttime Stories", where the compositions recall everything from the triumphant call-to-arms of classic DISCHORD, to the vicious troglodyte battery of the MELVINS, to the dynamic interwoven melodies of bottom-heavy indie cult heroes CHAVEZ. Nowhere is this evinced as clearly as on initial album single "Midnight And Mescaline", the album's lead single.

"Nighttime Stories" was an album title initially proposed for TUSK, the hallucinatory art-grind band that included PELICAN members Trevor Shelley de Brauw, Larry Herweg, and Schroeder-Lebec, in addition to vocalist Jody Minnoch. The writing of "Nighttime Stories" was instigated shortly after Minnoch's unexpected death in 2014, and some of the dissonant viscera and dark psychedelic structures that were characteristic of TUSK's sound began to unconsciously inform the album's direction. In homage to its departed colleague, PELICAN applied the previously discarded title and pulled many of the song titles from notes Minnoch had sent to inspire the direction of the unrealized album. As the writing of "Nighttime Stories" progressed, Thomas also experienced a heavy loss with the passing of his father, to whom the album pays tribute on opening track "W.S.T." (on which Dallas performed his guitar parts on his father's Yamaha acoustic).

PELICAN has always excelled at vacillating between the savage sounds of various niches of metal underground and the more delicate and nuanced sounds of Midwest's cerebral indie community, proving that they can make either end of the spectrum more vibrant and compelling through the art of contrast. With "Nighttime Stories", the pendulum has swung back to the angst and ire of their younger years while delivering it with the nuance and wisdom that's come with nearly two decades of writing and performing.

"Nighttime Stories" track listing:

01. WST
02. Midnight And Mescaline
03. Abyssal Plain
04. Cold Hope
05. It Stared At Me
06. Nighttime Stories
07. Arteries Of Blacktop
08. Full Moon, Black Water

PELICAN heads out on a 10-city U.S. tour in June with more dates in the works for later in the year.

Photo by Marfa Capodanno


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).