SIGHT OF EMPTINESS Putting Finishing Touches On New Album

Costa Rica-based melodic extreme metal band SIGHT OF EMPTINESS is putting the finishing touches on its second album, "Absolution of Humanity", tentatively due later in the year via an as-yet-undetermined record label. Singer Eduardo Chacón (a.k.a "fILTHY") states, "Last week, we listened to the final mix and let me tell ya, fellows, we are so freaking happy with the result, we can't believe our new baby is ready to give his 'first steps' out there. This new album represents a new page in the history of the band. Two new members debut in the studio; so much talent and fresh ideas they brought to the news tunes. We are talking about Rafa Castro (lead guitar) and Esteban Monestel (bass, backing vocals)."

He adds, "For the recording of 'Absolution of Humanity', we worked with Jerry Ramirez, who had previously worked with the band on the debut album 'Trust is a Disease' (2007). This time around we looked for a bigger, aggressive and dynamic sound, just as the new material required it. Drums are 100% acoustic, no 'triggers' or 'sound replacement' involved, looking for a more 'human' feeling and not a 'machine - plastic' sound. We moved to seven-string guitars, which is going to bring more punch and heaviness to the songs.

"This new album represent what SIGHT OF EMPTINESS is all about — aggressive riffs, melody, tight structures, and a fresh flavor of metal from Costa Rica that you won't find somewhere else."

"Absolution of Humanity" track listing:

01. Predictable Tragedy
02. Infected
03. Faceless Dream
04. Witness of your Murder
05. Funeral March
06. The Art of Suffering
07. Judge me today...Die Tomorrow
08. Absolution of Humanity
09. Burning Silence

Labels interested in releasing the new album or signing the band can contact SIGHT OF EMPTINESS at [email protected]

"Wall of Pain", the latest video from SIGHT OF EMPTINESS, can be viewed below. The clip was filmed by Niclas Swanlund during SIGHT OF EMPTINESS' performance on the main stage at 2007's Bloodstock Open Air festival.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).