SINERGY Perform Special 'Covers' Gig In Helsinki

Finland's SINERGY performed a special "party gig" in Helsinki at On The Rocks on Dec. 18 featuring a variety covers from some of heavy metal's finest old-school bands.

The group's complete set list for the evening was as follows:

01. W.A.S.P. - Animal (Fuck Like A Beast)
02. GUNS N' ROSES - My Michelle
03. SLAYER - Raining Blood
04. PANTERA - Fucking Hostile*
05. MÖTLEY CRÜE - Too Young To Fall In Love
06. SKID ROW - 18 And Life
07. STONE - Brain Damage*
08. MEGADETH - Peace Sells... But Who's Buying
09. POISON - Talk Dirty To Me
10. KISS - Lick It Up
11. CLIFF BURTON - Bass Solo (performed by Lauri)
12. METALLICA - Hit The Lights*
13. SUICIDAL TENDENCIES - You Can't Bring Me Down

* sung by guitarist Alexi Laiho

"As we only had 2 days to learn these songs, you can imagine that there were definetely a few mistakes, but nothing too serious, I think," SINERGY frontwoman Kimberly Goss wrote on the band's official web site. "We had fun! It was a one-of-a-kind party gig for us and we could clearly see that the people were enjoying it. We had to change the key to many of the songs in order to suit my voice, and I had to have the lyrics for the Finnish song by EPPU NORMAALI placed on a note stand in front of me as I sang (that must've looked retarded). For those of you who don't know, I actually sang in Finnish *hahaha*! Also, for those of you non-Finns, in case you're wondering who STONE is, they are the former thrash/speed band of [guitarist] Roope [Latvala]. They were very big in Finland in the '80's/ early 90's and have legendary status here amongst the metal people, but unfortunately they never got the attention or recognition they deserved throughout the rest of the world.

"After finishing the cover set, I did something completely unexpected and totally unplanned for the evening. I asked the audience if they wanted to hear any SINERGY songs, since this would be the last time we'd play in Helsinki for at least a year, as we'll be taking a long break starting in February to concentrate on writing album number four! The crowd replied with great enthusiasm, so I just asked people what they wanted to hear. We only had the strength to play 6 of the songs requested:

01. I Spit On Your Grave
02. Passage To The Fourth World
03. Beware The Heavens
04. Lead Us To War
05. Wake Up In Hell
06. The Bitch Is Back

"During 'Lead Us To War' I invited a fan on stage to help me sing (as I have been doing on most of our gigs this year). It turned out that he was the exact same fan I invited on stage to sing with us at our last gig in Helsinki. Lucky bastard! He was very drunk and rocked his ass off! I also invited our guitar roadies Kride & Pete who also happen to play in the up-and-coming Finnish band NORTHER. By the time we played 'The Bitch Is Back', my voice was totally gone, but luckily I had the assistance of my lovely friend Tanya (ex-LULLACRY, now SOULGRIND) help me on a few parts. We didn't expect to play these tracks, so I hope the people went away satisfied and with the feeling that they got more than they bargained for. Hell, the gig was free!"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).