SUSPERIA: 'Cut From Stone' Details Revealed

Norwegian melodic thrashers SUSPERIA release their new studio album, "Cut from Stone", on April 2 April in Norway and April 9 in the rest of Europe via the Tabu label (a division of Tuba Records, Norway). Release details for the USA are expected to be confirmed soon.

"Cut from Stone" was recorded at Strand Studio, Oslo, Norway during 2006. The mix was completed by Daniel Bergstrand (IN FLAMES, MESHUGGAH, SOILWORK) at Dug-Out Studios in Uppsala, Sweden, whilst the production was handled by SUSPERIA and Marius Strand.

The Oslo-based five piece — vocalist Athera, bass guitarist Memnock, drummer Tjodalv, guitarists Elvorn and Cyrus — has assembled a collection of aggressive, hard-hitting metal songs with a melodic edge. A maelstrom of vicious riffs and melody lies at the heart of the bands powerhouse performance on the eleven new songs that make up "Cut from Stone". The full track listing is:

01. More
02. Lackluster Day
03. The Clone
04. Distant Memory
05. Release
06. Life Deprived
07. Between the Lines
08. Bound to Come
09. Under
10. Brother
11. Cut from Stone

The band has once again collaborated with Rune Tyvold for the sleeve design and cover artwork, which features a hybrid of the bands faces as its main theme.

Speaking about the new album, guitarist Cyrus said: "We're really excited about this record. I think it's our best album so far. I know it's a cliché to say that, but I genuinely believe it. Working with Daniel Bergstrand was awesome, he taught us so much. He has given our songs a human touch, still really heavy and powerful but warmer and more organic. It has an analogue feel to it, which is how Daniel likes to work."

Having battled professional demons during the recording, the band is once again ready to push forward now that the album is complete. Commenting on their ups and downs, bass guitarist Memnock said, "Being in SUSPERIA is like a marriage, except we have five wives. There is constant bickering, disagreements and even arguments but we have a strong bond and always make up in the end. We all believe passionately about what we do and always want the best, so it sometimes leads to some very uncomfortable situations."

Though constantly underrated and often overlooked, SUSPERIA has delivered on the promise shown on their last album, "Unlimited". Their new recording represents a further step forward for the band as they continue to carve out their own niche in the metal fraternity.

"Cut from Stone" is the follow-up to the band's 2004 Tabu debut "Unlimited", which has become their best-selling release to date. Their first two albums were released through Nuclear Blast. SUSPERIA subsequently released the "Devil May Care" EP in 2005 which reached No. 19 on Norway's official "Hit List," making the band the first homegrown act in the metal genre to achieve a Top 20 hit in the country.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).